Click Here
view counter

An anniversary to remember: 15th anniversary Turning the Page for Change event


If you missed our annual Turning the Page for Change Celebration, don't fret. Many of the celebration's most memorable moments were captured on film by Notebook photographer Harvey Finkle. There is still plenty of time to take part in all the fun. Simply, click play, and enjoy the slideshow!

Remember, it is never too late to become a part of the Notebook community, or too early to make a positive change to Philadelphia public schools. Become a member!


The Highlights


Check out the entries of the winners of the Student Journalism Awards, read about Eric Joselyn or Toni Bynum Simpkins, who were recognized at the celebration for all their hard work for the Notebook, learn about the history of the Notebook, or much more.


Student Excellence

"I always feel great about the student journalism awards, and this year was no exception.  The fact that students see this sort of work as valuable seems, in some ways, the best endorsement of all." - Len Rieser

"I loved that the youth were in high attendance.  I think it is fantastic that the people we are serving are well represented at each event.  This year I took my son Eli (9th grader) He enjoyed the festivities as well." - Debbie Toney-Moore

"Congratualtions to the Philadelphia Notebook on its anniversary and to those who recieved special recognition. The celebration was very upbeat and allowed for a lot of networking and reunions. The souvenirs (caricature drawings by young artists from CAPA, photos, etc.,) were a great idea and added to the festive atmosphere. Continued success! - Germaine Edwards


 The Faces of the Notebook 

"It was exciting being at the event and seeing the great strides the Notebook has taken. For anyone interested in public education in Philadelphia, the Notebook is essential reading." -Phil Goldsmith

"I really enjoyed greeting and meeting new, interesting  people at this event."-Thelma L. Morgan


History of the Notebook


"I liked looking down at the big, enthusiastic crowd of all races, all sizes and shapes, all walks of life, and all ages -- all devoted to and loud in their support of quality public education for everyone." - State Rep. Babette Josephs


"For me its not a single moment but the chance to see many old friends and meet new people, all who share a commitment to the work of public education.   I always feel like I'm in the right line of work after one of these gatherings." - Ron Whitehorne

"One of the things I love most about the annual Notebook gathering is the coming together of diverse groups in a celebratory space, where even admidst our varying backgrounds, we unite as a devoted community for our schools." - Helen Gym

The Supporters


Sustaining Sponsors:

Partnership Sponsors: Communities in Schools of Philadelphia, Inc., La Salle University, Nova Southeastern University, Saint Joseph's University Graduate Arts & Sciences Program
Ally Sponsor: The Maramont Corporation
Contributing Sponsors: All City Transportation, Inc., Atlantic Express of Pennsylvania, Delaware Valley High School, Durham School Services,  Foundations, Inc., IKEA South Philadelphia, Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School, Mastery Charter School-Shoemaker Campus, Temple University College of Education, University of the Arts
Student Journalism Awards Sponsor: Philadelphia Eagles

Host Committee: Judy Adamson, Christie Balka, Joseph Blanc, Alfredo Calderon, Jane Century, Jolley Bruce Christman, Susan DeJarnatt and Peter Schneider, Quibila A. Divine, Cred Dobson, Sharon Easterling, Vicki Ellis, Fred and Cindy Farlino, Dr. Deidré R. and Larry W. Farmbry, Carol S. Fixman, Mary Goldman, Philip R. Goldsmith, Helen Gym and Bret Flaherty, Jerry T. Jordan, State Rep. Babette Josephs, Debra Kahn, James and Susan Lytle, Joan Mazzotti, Myrtle and Khia Naylor, Dina Portnoy, Councilwoman Maria D. Quiñones-Sanchez, Len Rieser and Fernando Chang-Muy, Joan Sage, Brett Schaeffer, Susan Schewel, Laura Shubilla, Stan Shubilla, Sally A. Simmons and Charles A. Thrall, Toni Bynum Simpkins, Mary Ann and Elmer Smith, Sid and Sandy Socolar, Bert and Lynne Strieb, Deborah Toney-Moore, Eva Travers, Sharon Tucker, Betsey Useem, Debra S. Weiner, Ron Whitehorne and Patty Eakin, David and Betsy Wice, Jeff and Kellie Wicklund, Ilene Winikur, and Erica Young.

If you would like to be on our host committee or a sponsor next year, please  or would like please call 215-951-0330x2160 or email us for more information.

Comments (2)

Submitted by Anonymous on March 23, 2015 6:38 pm

Hey – great blog, just looking around some blogs, seems a really nice platform you are using. Learn more

Submitted by Anonymous on May 12, 2015 4:41 am

Thanks for your information, it was really very helpfull.. apartments for rent in Monaco

Post new comment

By using this service you agree not to post material that is obscene, harassing, defamatory, or otherwise objectionable. We reserve the right to delete or remove any material deemed to be in violation of this rule, and to ban anyone who violates this rule. Please see our "Terms of Usage" for more detail concerning your obligations as a user of this service. Reader comments are limited to 500 words. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

Read the latest print issue

Philly Ed Feed


Public School Notebook

699 Ranstead St.
Third Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone: (215) 839-0082
Fax: (215) 238-2300

© Copyright 2013 The Philadelphia Public School Notebook. All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Usage and Privacy Policy