November 26 — 1:00 am, 2008

Terms set to expire in January for four SRC members

The terms of four of the five members of the School Reform Commission are expiring, giving Gov. Rendell and Mayor Nutter the chance to set the direction of District leadership for years to come.

Chairwoman Sandra Dungee Glenn and commissioners James Gallagher, Martin Bednarek, and Heidi Ramirez all have terms ending in January. The fifth commissioner, Denise MacGregor Armbrister, was appointed by Rendell to a five-year term in 2007.

Dungee Glenn was appointed by Mayor John Street, but elevated to chairwoman by the governor in 2007. Gallagher was appointed by former Republican governor Mark Schweiker and is not expected to return.

Bednarek was a Street appointee. Ramirez was appointed by Rendell in March to finish an unexpired term.

Ramirez said that she is interested in staying on. “I’m excited about the work I’ve been able to do. I look forward to continuing the work” if reappointed, she said.

Said Bednarek, “If the mayor or governor calls upon you, you obviously consider it.”

The SRC was installed as the School District’s governing board as part of the state’s takeover of Philadelphia schools in 2001. Although legislation calls for the governor to appoint four members and the mayor one, Schweiker allowed Street to name two members as a courtesy and medicine. Nutter, who took office in January, has yet to fill an opening.

Nutter administration officials would not comment on whom the mayor may be considering. Chuck Ardo, Rendell’s chief spokesman, said that the governor is well aware of the deadline, but has been too busy to give it serious consideration yet. SRC appointees must be approved by the Pennsylvania Senate.

the notebook

Our news is free to read, but not to report.

support local journalism